12 Jyotirlinga Temples Names and History

12 Jyotirlinga Temples Names and History

12 Jyotirlinga Temples Names list

12 Jyotirlinga Temples Names.

1-Somnath Jyotirlinga:

Somnath Jyotirlinga has a special significance among 12 Jyotirlinges located in Saurashtra, Gujarat.
In the past, an attempt was made to destroy this temple six times. But its existence still exists today. It is believed that the construction of this temple was done by Chandra Dev himself after being discharged from the curse of Daksha Prajapati. This temple is also mentioned in Rig Veda.

2-Mahakaleshwar Jyotirlinga:

Mahakaleshwar temple in Ujjain in Madhya Pradesh is more important than all other Jyotirling. It is believed that this Jyotirlinga is self-existent. The source of all its powers is its own.. While all the Jyotirlinga have been established on the basis of mantra power.

3-Vaidyanath Jyotirlinga:

Vaidyanath Jyotirlinga is located in Deoghar of Jharkhand. Deoghar is the home of Gods. This is Jyothirlinga’s proven bench. It is believed that every motive sought here is complete. On this same Shiva ji’s exclusive devotee worshiped Shiva ji. And sacrificed his 10 steps to please Shiva.

4- Rameswaram Jyotirlinga:

Rameshwar Jyotirlinga of Ramnathapuram in Tamil Nadu also has the same belief as Kashi Vishwanath. That is why Lord Rama worshiped Lord Shiva before attacking Lanka. Rameswaram Setu is also situated at this place.

READ MORE- Ardhanarishwar Temple of Lord Shiva

5- Trimbakeshwar Jyotirlinga:

Trimbakeshwar Jyotirlinga is located in the Nashik province of Maharashtra. Located near this, the mountain named Brahmagiri is the origin of Godavari river. This is the only Jyotirling where Tridev, which means Brahma, Vishnu and Shiva dwell. All other Jyotirlingas are considered to be the abode of Lord Shiva only.

6 Kedarnath Jyotirlinga:

Kedarnath Jyotirlinga, located in Rudraprayag district of Uttarakhand, is not only involved in 12 Jyotirling but also one of Panch Kedar. Due to the adverse climate here, it is opened for visas from April to November only.

7- Omkareshwar Jyotirlinga:

On the bank of Narmada in Madhya Pradesh, Omkareshwar Jyotirling is located on Shivpura. It is said that the size of this island is like Om and it is made of the Narmada river erosion itself. Hence this temple has been named Omkareshwar. It conveys its original name. There is two temples named Omkareshwar and Amareswar. Which are regularly worshiped.

8- Mallikarjun Jyotirlinga:

Mallikarjuna in Andhra Pradesh is also known as Srisailam. The most important festival to be celebrated in this temple is Maha Shivaratri. In this temple Lord Shiva is considered as the abode of his whole family Parvati, Kartikeya and Ganesh.

9- Nageshwar Jyotirlinga:

Nageshwar Jyotirling is located in Gujarat’s Dwarka province. Nageshwar Jyotirlinga has been given great glory in the scriptures. Wherever it goes, whoever will listen to the story of the origin of this Jyothirlinga, will attain liberation.
READ MORE- Mahashivratri History and Wishes

10- Kashi Vishwanath Jyotirlinga:

Kashi is also called the city of Lord Shiva. Kashi Vishwanath Jyotirlinga is situated on the banks of the Ganges in this city. Where does the salvation of this temple get salvation? It is believed that this Jyothirlinga can not be harmed even during the Judgment Day and it will remain the same. In mythology, it has been considered as the creation of creation. Where Lord Shiva was born from Brahma and Vishnu.

11- Bhimashankar Jyotirlinga:

Bhimashankar Jyotirlinga is located in Maharashtra, about 100 kilometers away from Pune. The Shivalinga situated here is quite thick and hence it is also called Moteshwar Mahadev. A river named Bhima also flows near this temple. Which meets Krishna in the river.

12- Ghrishneshwar Jyotirlinga:

Ghrishneshwar Jyotirlinga is situated near Aurangabad in Maharashtra. This temple is situated near the caves of Ellora. Of the 12 Jyotirlingas, it is considered as the last Jyotirling. It is named after the name of a legend associated with the origin of the temple, which has its name, Ghrishneshwar.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top